Back to the top
45 Souls

45 Souls

45 Souls is the band of Chicago-based musicians Michael Petersen and Gibson Arlasky. The band’s roots-rock Americana style reflects their varied interests in acoustic and electric rock, folk, pop, country, old-school R&B, and much more. 45S blends textured instrumental arrangements, smooth vocal harmonies and introspective songwriting to form a unique soulful sound influenced by and reflective of decades of music in American popular culture.

New Releases

Our latest release, Free, is a return to 45 Souls’ rock and pop roots. Gib and Mike, working with musicians Gerald Dowd (drums), Steve Doyle (dobro and electric guitar), and Johnny Iguana (piano), have crafted some of their finest songs to date.

45 Souls Events

No upcoming event scheduled

45 Souls News

45 Souls Special Acoustic Show

Gib and Mike will perform unplugged at the closing party of the Fall Exhibition 2019 at Arts on Elston on Friday, October 11, 2019. Show...

45 Souls Live at Montrose Saloon

45 Souls will play a show at Montrose Saloon on 11-2-19! We’re playing with two other great bands, Go Time! and The Spindles. Check out...

45 Souls Live at Martyrs’

45 Souls will play a CD Release show at Martyrs’  on Thursday, May 30! We’re playing with two other great bands, Go Time! and The...

“Michael Petersen could be Chicago’s best songwriter. From Spiralbound, one of the best records I’ve ever heard, to the wildly ambitious, 2 CD release in 2012 of Jackal and Dove/Mortal Moon, it is one great song after another. The rootsy/folk of River sees Petersen moving into a realm he seemed comfortable with in the past but in River it is upfront and intrepid. Fans of Parker Millsap and Mumford and Sons will be right at home.”
—Roland Weiss – Rock Beat International

© Copyright 2020 | 45 Souls